Downsizing: Clothes

Clothing has been one of the most difficult things about downsizing, or minimalism, for me.  I love clothes and fashion.  My Pinterest boards are teeming with cute outfits and dreamy accessories. I’ve also always been rather cheap, which means most of my clothes came from thrift stores and sale racks.  No shame!

IMG_2985

When the time came to start downsizing clothes I struggled.  There are soooo many posts and suggestions out there, like this one. I read this post about Project 333.  None of them seemed to fit me and my lifestyle.

IMG_2640

So, I decided to downsize in a way that made sense for me.  I am all about focusing more on the quality, wear-ability, and practicality of clothing items.  You absolutely can be fashionable and still live minimally. Here’s how I am doing it…

1.) Weed out the stuff you don’t need. Try taking a picture of yourself every day for 30 days (I am giving you a freebie to take a shameless selfie every day).  Keep a running tab of items that you wore.  Did you wear the same thing at least once a week?  Did you wear something one day and hate the outfit?  Keep track! This will help you weed out what you do/don’t need.  If you haven’t worn it in a month, you probably don’t need access to it in your daily closet queue.  If you live in a seasonal climate (I’m looking at you midwesterners) you should do this seasonally.  Don’t forget workout clothes and outerwear.  Include every aspect of your dressing arsenal. Rotate, donate, and pack away what you aren’t using!

2.) Only buy clothes that you absolutely love.  Too often we buy things that are “ok” because we can’t find exactly what we are looking for in the store.  Stop doing this immediately.  If you don’t love it completely…like can’t live without it kind of love…don’t buy it! It’s not worth the closet space. Put down the sweater. Walk away.

3.) Choose products that are high quality.  I have a few brands that I love, unfortunately one of these brands has a habit of falling apart.  I have to force myself not to buy clothes there because I know they won’t last.  Quality matters.

4.) Choose things that are practical.  This is especially important if you are a working girl/guy.  We spend at least 5 days a week in work clothes.  So, why do so many of us have more weekend clothes than weekday clothes?  I usually won’t buy anything new if it can’t be worn at work, or (double-score) can work for both my personal and professional life.  This is why I gravitate towards cardigans, corduroys, tunics, etc.  Also, I tend to only allow myself only one pair of jeans at a time because they aren’t allowed at my job.  Things that can translate to all aspects of your life should rule supreme.

IMG_2656

So, here is my challenge to you: take a picture of what you wear every day for the next month.  Donate what you aren’t using/find yourself disliking.  If you are buying new clothes you should be looking for quality, practicality, and a personal love for the item.  Try to use these techniques this month and see if it helps you downsize.  It’s worked wonders for me!

Your turn…How often do you buy new clothes? How often do you donate clothes?

I am currently listening to…Lana Del Rey- Summertime Sadness

Leave a Reply

