Beginning Blogger

#Blogtober14 is still going strong and the topic for today is “10 things I wish I told myself when I first started blogging.”

Personally, I’ve been blogging since 2010. My first foray into the blogging world was Naknek Grime, which chronicled my life in rural Alaska while working for a commercial fishing company.  My second foray was called Tales From The Last Frontier.  I kept TFTLF for over two years and wrote all about my adventure living in SE Alaska.  This blog, The Middle(tons) of Nowhere, started when I moved to Michigan from Alaska a few short months ago.  Honestly, my blogging journey has been a bit kooky because my original blogs were both aimed at keeping my friends and family in the loop.  As my second blog evolved, I started to collect a much wider range of readers. Honestly, I wish I would have known LOTS of things when I first started blogging, today I think I will stick to listing just my top 5 though.  Here are just a few of the tips I’d give myself!

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 1.) Try out lots of different sites.  Not all sites are created equal! Also, you really need to test them out to know which one fits your style of writing and your audience.  Don’t settle on the first one you see.

15

2.) Pick a topic or genre.  I can be little all over the place.  My writing definitely reflects that.  Even as a seasoned blogger I still feel that I have trouble reigning myself in on occasion.

3.) Get a good camera (or at least some good editing apps) and take lots of pictures. My true love is photography so as my blog evolved I felt more confident featuring my own photos.

4.) Read other blogs. One way you gain readership by being featured in other blogs and by befriending other bloggers.  The blogging community is a competitive one and making friends is important.  Network!

5.) Be yourself! Nobody wants to read a forced opinion or outlook.  Readers can tell when you are being genuine.  Make sure you are always using your own voice to convey a message.  This is how readers get to know and love you!

 

Well, there you have it! Be an individual and be creative! Blogging is fun so don’t take it too seriously.  Love what you do and love getting your message out there in the world.  This is what blogging is all about 🙂

2 thoughts on “Beginning Blogger

Leave a Reply

