My Fall Bucket List

Fall is officially my favorite time of year.  It always has been.  There is just something about sweater weather, falling leaves, apple orchards, hearty meals, chilly days, and brilliant sunsets.  For the last two years, I was living in the land of perpetual crappy fall weather.  You see, I lived in the Alaskan rainforest.  We got 300days of rain/snow per year.  The temperatures were always between 30°-60°F, and the leaves never changed color. The thing that I was most excited about when I pictured myself moving to the Midwest again was the awesomeness that having four distinct seasons brings. We enjoyed a hot, beautiful summer and now we are transitioning into an incredible fall.  When I think about fall, I think about all of the things I want to do this season.  My fall bucket list is admittedly rather long.  But, can you blame me? I’ve gone two years without celebrating a true fall season.

13

1.) Go apple picking.

2.) Carve a pumpkin.

3.)Watch the sunset from a blanket on the beach.

4.) Read a spooky book.

5.) Bake a pie (apple or pumpkin).

6.) Press my favorite leaves between the pages of a book.

7.) Have a bonfire.

8.) Roast s’mores over the fire.

9.) Make apple cider.

10.) Drink a cup of hot cocoa with the windows open.

11.) Go for a hike to see the fall colors.

12.) Drink a pumpkin beer.

13.) Go on a fall-themed date.

14.) Watch a scary movie.

15.) Hand out candy on Halloween.

So, there you have it.  I am incredibly thrilled to get to participate in some of my favorite fall activities again this year.  On the island we have an abundance of wild apple trees.  Cody and I are picking 5-10 apples per week right now.  I foresee lots of apple goodies making it into my kitchen.  The other items on my bucket list might not be as easy to obtain, but I have faith.  Here’s to hoping for an amazingly beautiful fall season! 🙂

Leave a Reply

