Introducing…

The Middle(tons) of Nowhere!

Thanks for stumbling upon my blog about our life in the middle of nowhere.  Today I just wanted to take a couple of minutes to introduce you to my little family.  First up, me!

new1

My name is Hannah and I will be the author of this blog.  I grew up in the Midwest and after a couple of years of traveling and living in Alaska I found my way back to the Midwest. I’m a Midwestern girl at heart I suppose.  I work for a teeny school, which allows me the pleasure of teaching 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade all at the same time! There are only 60 students (PreK-12) in our entire school. In my free time I like to embrace my inner outdoors-woman and go hiking, biking, kayaking, and camping.  Some of my other passions are cooking, photography, DIY projects, minimalist living, and sustainability.  Expect to hear about all of those things on my blog 🙂

new2

This is Cody, aka the other half of my little family.  Cody is a writer and adventurer.  Currently, he is the Music Editor for this magazine.  He is extremely passionate about music and happens to be a very talented drummer.  Cody took some time off from college to tour with his band and now is getting ready to re-start his journey to higher education.  Other than music, Cody is a serious outdoorsman.  He hunts, fishes, hikes, boats, and all sorts of other outdoorsy activities.  He is passionate about hunting and fishing because he likes to be able to provide his own meat for the winter months. You’ll be hearing lots about this guy!

new3

Finally, this is Specks!! Specks is my five-year-old pup/child.  Cody and I are completely obsessed with him.  We adopted Specks from a training center almost three years ago.  He was formerly a service animal for military veterans.  Unfortunately, his hyperactive and love-y nature didn’t bode well for long-term service.  Well, unfortunately for the training center.  It worked out great for us! He is a complete doll and we baby him a ridiculous amount.  He loves hiking, eating grass (he may be part cow), sleeping under the covers, and doing tricks. Expect to see lots of pictures of this cutie!

There you have it! This is my little family.  We are just living our lives on a teeny island in the middle of Lake Michigan.  We spend our days working and our nights and weekends playing.  It’s a pretty simple life, but we sure love it.

Leave a Reply

